A Week-One Note To The Seahawks

Dear Seattle Seahawks,

Congratulations on your first regular season win against the Panthers!  Although I wasn’t home to watch it, I heard it was quite a game. It’s hard to believe it’s been just eight short months since we watched you in the playoffs. But I was quickly reminded of the powerful hold that you — and your games — seem to have over my husband Mo. And what a faithful, dedicated fan he is.

When I returned home I was glad to see that he managed to provide lunch for our two boys. Not simply sandwiches, either. He cooked up a warm meal for both of them, as witnessed by the leftover french fries, ketchup and turkey burgers that lay scattered across the countertops. What a relief to know that they didn’t go hungry during the three+ hours I was gone. It was also reassuring to know that he was able to focus intently on the game while leaving the clean up to me. I’m grateful for the opportunity to help support your team, even in the smallest of ways.

Another indication of his devotion to you is by how he couldn’t seem to find his way upstairs during the entire game. Not to get the plunger that might’ve been useful in the downstairs toilet. (No biggie. I mopped, wiped and cleaned it up when it overflowed 15 minutes before our friends’ arrival later). He also missed out on investigating the aggressive teen (bully?) who threatened to “fry” our 10-year-old out of the XBox Live online car-racing game, thus traumatizing him for the rest of the day. But I understand there’s a lot of anticipation for the season and that it was the first game and all. I totally get that the action was just too gripping to stray too far from the TV. It’s cool.

I must also offer you my sincere gratitude. Since he couldn’t sit still during some of the nail-biting action, he actually emptied out the entire dishwasher during the game. Not just the silverware. Not some measly glasses. Every single dish and utensil were returned to their rightful homes. I can’t remember the last time he did that. In fact, I didn’t even know he still considered that as one of the things on his chore list. But he quickly found an activity to help alleviate some of the stress when you were down 7-3. Thank you for that.

Anyhow, just wanted to wish you the best of luck this season. Believe me when I say we are looking forward to 15 more weeks of games (plus playoffs). We are especially eager to watch you face the Niners Sunday Night – and to see if the fans in Seattle will actually set the new Guinness World Record for crowd noise.

Please know that you can continue to count on Mo as your biggest, most supportive fan.

And please keep those high-intensity plays coming – I welcome the empty dishwasher.

Sincerely,

Mo’s Wife

8 thoughts on “A Week-One Note To The Seahawks

  1. Oh my gosh…this cracked me up!! It’s so close to home here too! Look forward to hanging with you guys for the game next weekend. 🙂

  2. Does Eric still wear his dangling seahawk helmet earing? It s the Seahawks.
    God, Seahawks and family. And yes I have become Ramsy. The guy that yells at every play. CHRISTY makes me go in the bedroom when I start yelling.
    And yes my hatred of the Forty niners gets stronger everyday

    HAWKBLOOD

Comments are closed.