The Moving On Part

This is the moving on part.

The part that doesn’t feel so good.

The part that doesn’t feel quite right.

The part where, at times, the emptiness feels like it’s overtaking most of your insides. When you get that painful reminder, like a shot of cold water, that as far as your day-to-day, “parents” is no longer plural.

You don’t feel it all the time. Certainly not when you’re making roast beef sandwiches. Or putting the wiffle ball back on the tee for the 12th time. But when you’re sitting quietly on the couch reflecting on a milestone birthday, listening to the wind whip, feeling the tears glide down your face like the rain on the window, it hits hard. You can’t help but miss the parent whose absence makes the word no longer plural. The two of them went hand in hand, one with the other. It still takes some getting used to, one without the other.

This is the moving on part.

The part that doesn’t feel so good.

The part that doesn’t feel quite right.

But as you relive and replay memories in your head, and the blustery winds continue to blow, you realize that yes, this is the moving on part. But it’s also the part where friends reach out, swoop in, embrace and celebrate that milestone, and—through loving, kindhearted, generous gestures—remind you that even though you’re moving on, you’re not doing it alone.

4 thoughts on “The Moving On Part

  1. I han’t thought about this aspect before as when my dad died, he was single. It made me realize how much I think of my Mom and Ernie as a unit and how hard it would/will be when there is only one of them. Hugs to you and you go through the somewhat never ending process of grieving. Thank you for sharing. Your blog ALWAYS makes me stop and think and I am always touched by it in some way.

  2. My dearest Kira, Just reading your blog tonite brought so many tears rolling down my face… As I think of my dear Mother and Father that have been gone to be with our Savior for over 27 years. You do move on but you NEVER forget them. Their endless and unconditional love… Their enduring patience… Their teaching of our Jesus and his love for us. Such beautiful memories are overwhelming me tonight. Thank you dear Kira for the memories of my dear and loving Mom and Dad.
    With so much love to you Kira,
    Cindy

Comments are closed.