Sandy On The West Coast

Right now, running 26.2 miles seems like the easy part. The hard part started last Thursday at 3 a.m. in the form of vomit down the front of my 3-year-old’s pajamas. A few hours later, after what felt like a few minutes of sleep and more vomiting, I woke up to read about the approaching Hurricane Sandy, which was heading for the East Coast and scheduled to hit around the time we were supposed to arrive there. After sobbing into my pillow alone, I tearfully called my mom, “Mom, this hurricane thing…”

The plans we’d made six months before, including our NYC Marathon trip and East Coast vacation, felt like they were about to unravel.

We’ve now been through two flight cancellations and two vomiting boys. I wish I could say that I’ve been handling the up-and-down, keeping-an-eye-on-the-storm situation with grace and good cheer. Quite the opposite. I’ve been irritable, short-tempered and stressed. I wish I could say that the days have been filled with baking homemade Halloween treats and other creative, fun-filled ideas. Nope. The uncertainty has gotten the best of me. I stare off into space, wondering if the race will even go on (it will) and if we’ll even get there (this remains to be seen. But we’ll try. On a flight tomorrow afternoon.) It has been a lesson for me—a reminder—about having absolutely no control over anything. Over the past few days, I’d probably have to give myself a flunking grade in the going-with-the-flow department.

The East Coast is already bouncing back. I’m hoping to do the same. I’m hoping to be a part of the action. The Marathon website reads “the Marathon has always been a special day for New Yorkers as a symbol of the vitality and resiliency of this City.” I’m hoping to be one of the people at the starting line Sunday who embodies that NY spirit —one who shows that you never give up, you never quit, you keep on going. Despite vomit. Despite storms. Despite cancellations.

The thing is, on this Halloween morning, I just don’t know. And for me, that’s the hard part.

We will do what we can to get there, knowing that ultimately much of it remains out of our hands.

But there is one thing I will do today: I will keep on running.

11 thoughts on “Sandy On The West Coast

  1. Praying for you! And that this all comes together…someone told me once that God doesn’t usually reveal Himself early – He shows up right about the time our fingernails are breaking off, giving our faith a good workout. Keep running…

    1. Keep on running. God knows just what He’s doing, He is not a random God. Somewhere, somehow, there is a deep message in all of this. I will pray for you and I am proud of you for attempting to beat some gnarly odds. I think your new nickname should be Forrest Gump. Love you.

  2. Hope you make it out here Kira! I just moved to New York about a month ago to work at Blue Sky studios and Sandy gave me quite a welcome/initiation. There’s lots of devastation but you’re absolutely correct, people are bouncing back hard. Good luck with everything…I really hope you get to run your race. 🙂

  3. If you can just stay in the moment today and tomorrow will be here. Keep running and praying and it will be good. LOVE MOM

  4. As was said in the movie “Shakespeare in Love”, it will all work out in the end. Plus, even Moms and marathon runners deserve to have a bad day/melt down every once in a while. Thinking of you every day. Lots of love! RJ

  5. YOU are resilient ! To coin my favorite running phrase, Forward is a Pace. One step at a time sister, one foot in front of the other.

  6. My friend, take two hours and watch this movie for free on hulu. If you have seen it before, watch it again. If you haven’t seen it, I know it will warm your heart. Kira, you have every right to shed every ounce of emotion that you are feeling. You are human.

    http://www.hulu.com/#!watch/85354

  7. I hope you all are on the plane soon. I can only imagine how frustrating this week has been for you. I feel for you – I don’t deal with life messing up my detailed plans very well:) You have been in my thoughts before,during, and after the storm. Once all of the details start falling in place over the next couple of days, I am sure it will be an experience to look back on and that will always be shared. I am sure you will do awesome in marathon. I look forward to hearing all about it. Good luck and Safe travels!

  8. Kira – hope you made it to NYC. Just sent an email and hope you’ll get my good luck wishes in some way. Enjoy your race!

Comments are closed.